Barbers Crescent, Rawmarsh, Rotherham S62 6AD

01709 430420

Rawmarsh Nursery School & Children’s Centre


The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

Children learn from every aspect of life around them. The most valuable resource any child can have at their disposal is a familiar, attuned, sensitive and knowledgeable adult. This means that whether children prefer to be indoors or out, our highly skills staff can take learning to where they are and meet their interests.

Children can learn from the environment, the atmosphere, the routines and the activities and learning experiences presented to them. It is impossible to separate aspects of learning and development in very young children, but the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum helps us as educators, to track and plan for children’s next steps in learning as they aim towards the Early Learning Goals, which are the expectation for the end of their first year in Primary School.

Here at our Centre we deliver the EYFS Curriculum which covers children 2-5 years. We plan activities for children to help them develop their skills and take their learning forward. The curriculum itself is divided into 7 areas of learning and development:

Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These are the prime areas of learning, which are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development


We then support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design 


All teaching is delivered through practical activities and structured play. Parents are closely involved and are asked to inform staff about their child’s interests. The children are regularly assessed to monitor their progress and to enable accurate plans to be made for future teaching and learning.

More details on the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum are available on the Department for Education (DFES) website.

Please click here to download the EYFS Explained for Parents

nursery eyfs 460