Barbers Crescent, Rawmarsh, Rotherham S62 6AD

01709 430420

Rawmarsh Nursery School & Children’s Centre








Our Curriculum





There are seven areas of learning and development that shape the educational programmes in our nursery.  All areas of learning and development are important and inter- connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. Central to our curriculum is a commitment to supporting the development of communication skills to enable children to meet their potential in all educational programmes and their future learning life. 

These three areas are called the Prime Areas of Learning. They are:

• Communication and Language;

• Physical Development; and

• Personal, Social and Emotional Development.

We also support children in four Specific Areas of Learning, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:



• Understanding the World; and

• Expressive Arts and Design.

Our bespoke curriculum takes account of the needs of the children that we teach and the community in which they live by delivering the curriculum through the use of high quality texts, forest school teaching, learning about and celebrating the festivals of people all around the world and offering central learning experiences.